April 9 - 10, Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Smart Data Pricing
SDP Forum 2015

Keynote Speakers

Paul Jacobs (Executive Chairman and former CEO of Qualcomm)

Dr. Paul E. Jacobs is executive chairman of Qualcomm Incorporated, where he is responsible for helping guide the development of new technologies and Qualcomm’s long-term opportunities.

A leader in the field of mobile communications for more than 25 years and a key architect of Qualcomm’s strategic vision, Dr. Jacobs spearheaded Qualcomm’s efforts to develop and commercialize mobile technology breakthroughs that have significantly contributed to the growth of both the Company and the industry. Important developments which began under Dr. Jacobs include: the first smartphone based on Palm OS®; inclusion of GPS capabilities in mobile phones (which led to the acquisition of SnapTrack™ GPS and Qualcomm's development of gpsOne™ position-location technology); the Brew® platform, which enables over-the-air downloading of applications; QChat™ platform, a Voice over IP, push-to-talk system; Qualcomm® Mirasol™ display technology, a novel reflective display technology; and the Qualcomm® Toq™ smartwatch.

Following the completion of his Ph.D. in 1989 and a year as a post-doctoral researcher at a French government lab in Toulouse, Dr. Jacobs joined the Company fulltime in 1990 as a development engineer leading the mobile phone digital signal processor software team. Five years later, Dr. Jacobs became vice president and general manager of the combined handset and integrated circuit division, which was subsequently divided into Qualcomm Consumer Products and QCT, respectively. Dr. Jacobs served as CEO from July 2005 to March 2014 and was appointed chairman in 2009.

As an innovative leader of a broad range of technical teams within Qualcomm, Dr. Jacobs has been granted more than 50 patents for his inventions in the areas of wireless technology and devices. Dr. Jacobs is chairman of the U.S.-Korea Business Council and of the Advisory Board of the University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering; vice chairman and co-owner of the NBA Sacramento Kings; Global eHealth Foundation Ambassador; a member of the International Business Council of the World Economic Forum; a member of the US-India CEO Forum; and serves on the Board of Directors for FIRST®.

Dr. Jacobs received his bachelor's (1984) and master's (1986) degrees, as well as his doctorate (1989) in electrical engineering, from the University of California, Berkeley.

Denny Strigl (Former CEO of Verizon Wireless and COO of Verizon)

Denny Strigl was president and chief operating officer of Verizon Communications where he was responsible for the operations of Verizon's network businesses - Verizon Wireless, Verizon Telecom and Verizon Business until his retirement on December 31, 2009. He was president and chief executive officer of Verizon Wireless prior to being promoted to president of the entire corporation.

Strigl is widely recognized as one of the most prominent architects of the wireless communications industry. He was responsible for bringing together the domestic wireless operations of Bell Atlantic, Vodafone AirTouch and GTE to form Verizon Wireless, now one of the top-performing companies in the industry. Previously, he served as president and CEO of Bell Atlantic Mobile and group president and CEO of Bell Atlantic Global Wireless, the company’s domestic and international wireless portfolio.

Strigl holds an undergraduate degree in business administration and doctorate of humane letters from Canisius College in Buffalo, N.Y., and an MBA from Fairleigh Dickinson University in Rutherford, N.J. Since retiring from Verizon he has written a management book, Managers, Can you Hear Me Now?, McGraw-Hill, 2011, and spoken to numerous groups on management leadership. He is a frequent guest on the FOX News Channel, FOX Business, CNBC and MSNBC. He is also a licensed commercial pilot.

Prof. Henning Schulzrinne (Chair Professor at Columbia U. and former CTO of FCC)

Henning Schulzrinne is Julian Clarence Levi Professor of Computer Science at Columbia University. He received his undergraduate degree in economics and electrical engineering from the Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany, his MSEE degree as a Fulbright scholar from the University of Cincinnati, Ohio and his Ph.D. from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Massachusetts. He was a member of technical staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill and an associate department head at GMD-Fokus (Berlin), before joining the Computer Science and Electrical Engineering departments at Columbia University, New York. From 2004 to 2009, he served as chair of the Department of Computer Science. From 2012-13, he was the Chief Technology Officer at the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

He is editor of the Computer Communications Journal, the ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing, the ComSoc Surveys & Tutorials and a former editor of the IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, Journal of Communications and Networks, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking and the IEEE Internet Computing Magazine.

He has been a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Communications Society and is vice chair of ACM SIGCOMM, former chair of the IEEE Communications Society Technical Committees on Computer Communications and the Internet and has been technical program chair of Global Internet, IEEE Infocom 2000, ACM NOSSDAV, IEEE IM, IPTComm 2008, IFIP Networking 2009 and IPtel and general co-Chair of ACM Multimedia 2004 and ICNP 2009. He serves on the Internet2 Applications, Middleware and Services Advisory Council and have led a working in the NSF GENI project. He also has been a member of the IAB (Internet Architecture Board). He serves on a number of conference and journal steering committees, including for the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking.

He has published more than 250 journal and conference papers, and more than 70 Internet RFCs. Protocols co-developed by him are now Internet standards, used by almost all Internet telephony and multimedia applications. His research interests include Internet multimedia systems, quality of service, and performance evaluation.

He served as Chief Scientist for FirstHand Technologies and Chief Scientific Advisor for Ubiquity Software Corporation. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, has received the New York City Mayor's Award for Excellence in Science and Technology, the VON Pioneer Award, TCCC service award and the IEEE Region 1 William Terry Award for Lifetime Distinguished Service to IEEE.